Skip to main content

Board of trustees

Some of the world's most respected scientists and clinicians have joined the Board of trustees of BMC. We have undertaken to the Board of trustees that we will continue a policy of unconditional open access for research articles and that any new owner of BioMed Central Limited would have to also guarantee to continue this policy. The Board of trustees have the right to enforce these undertakings.

  • Professor Brian Haynes, Chair of the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics at McMaster University, Canada
  • Dr Steven E Hyman, Provost of Harvard University, USA
  • Professor Marc W Kirschner, Head of the Department of Cell Biology at Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Professor Philippe Kourilsky, Chair of Singapore Immunology Network, Singapore
  • Dr David G Nathan, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, USA
  • Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society in London, UK
  • Sir Richard Peto, Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology at the University of Oxford, UK
  • Dr Harold E Varmus, Director of National Cancer Institute, USA
  • Professor Mitsuhiro Yanagida, Professor of Kyoto University, Graduate School of Biostudies, Japan