Table 1

Details of trainings conducted
Cadre trained Key competencies developed Duration of training
Primary Health Care Nurses Part 1 • Measurement of Visual acuity 5 days
Identification of basic eye pathological conditions
Primary Health Care Nurses Part 2 (Advanced Training offered to a percentage of those that completed Part 1) • Ophthalmoscopy 5 days
Identification of basic posterior segment diseases
Ophthalmic Nurses • Basic Refraction 5 days
Diagnosis & Management of Ocular Disease
Optometrists • Low Vision Assessments 5 days
• Treatment of Binocular Vision Anomalies 2 days
• Posterior Segment Pathology

Naidoo et al.

Naidoo et al. BMC Health Services Research 2013 13:361   doi:10.1186/1472-6963-13-361

Open Data