Figure 1.

South American dry biomes. Distribution of the Seasonally Dry Tropical Forest (SDTF) biome in South America. The 18 major forest nuclei are labelled. The Caatinga nucleus as defined here includes North-East Brejo and Peri-Caatinga nuclei. The two other dry biomes, the Chaco and savannas (Llanos and Cerrado) are also shown for contrast and comparison. Figure from Linares-Palomino et al. [44].

Särkinen et al. BMC Ecology 2011 11:27   doi:10.1186/1472-6785-11-27
Download authors' original image