Figure 4.

Secondary structure of the mitochondrial LSU rRNA intron. This intron is present in all the mitochondrial genomes described here, with the sequence shown being from A. fumigatus. Grey highlighted residues are identical in all species. All of the introns contain a mitochondrial S5 protein ORF in the P8 stem-loop. The primary difference between the Aspergillus and Penicillium species is the presence of an additional stem-loop structure, P6a.1, that is present in the Aspergillus species (except A. nidulans), but absent in the Penicillium species. P. chrysogenum is the only species to contain an extended P9.1 region. 5’SS: 5’ splice site; 3’SS: 3’ splice site.

Joardar et al. BMC Genomics 2012 13:698   doi:10.1186/1471-2164-13-698
Download authors' original image