Table 2

Modified national health and medical research council (NHMRC) hierarchy of evidence
Level Type of Intervention
I Systematic Review of Randomised Controlled Trials
II Randomised Controlled Trial
III Pseudo-Randomised Controlled Trial, Comparative Study with or without Concurrent Controls
IV Case Series with either post-test or pre-test/post-test outcomes

* Adapted from NHMRC (2009) [1].

Wells et al.

Wells et al. BMC Medical Research Methodology 2013 13:7   doi:10.1186/1471-2288-13-7

Open Data