Figure 1.

Map showing the distribution of 36 sample sites. Different symbols indicate the distribution of three main mtDNA haplogroups (called Chefu, LimpN, and LimpS). Numbers of localities correspond to Table 1. Haplotypes from the two haplogroups (Chefu and LimpN) were found in Pop406 (marked by the green arrow). Note that LimpS includes the localities from both the Limpopo and Incomati basins. Black arrow shows the position of the locality at Gona Re Zhou National Park in Zimbabwe (GRZ) that was excluded from some analyses because the individuals originated from a captive population. The inset figures show the position of the study area within Africa and Mozambique.

Bartáková et al. BMC Evolutionary Biology 2013 13:196   doi:10.1186/1471-2148-13-196
Download authors' original image